Skip to content
Home » Blast to the Past: Pokémon Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald

Blast to the Past: Pokémon Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald

One of the defining generations of Pokémon was generation 3, the era of Ruby, Sapphire, Emerald, Fire Red, and Leaf Green. In particular, the first three games brought about many of the changes that are in the current games.

Features Added Since Gen 2

One of the biggest changes from the previous generation was the reworking of the Berry system to the one we know now. Previously, berries were known by generic sounding names such as “Berry” for the 10 hp restoring berry, PSNCureBerry for the antidote berry, and other similar names. For generation 3, the berries received name corresponding to many real like fruits such as the Pinap Berry, Pecha Berry, Sitrus Berry, and more. The berry line was also increased to a total of 43 with the addition of berries for Pokeblocks.

Another major feature added to the Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald games was the Diving feature that allowed trainers to go underwater and explore the depths of Hoenn. Diving allowed trainers to access special areas and explore underwater for rare items. In particular, Sootopolis City where Kyogre and Groudon have an epic battle can only be reached for the first time through diving.

The Legendaries

Rayquaza, Groudon, and Kyogre are some of the strongest legendary Pokémon available throughout the games. For Emerald, Rayquaza is obtainable before battling the Elite Four, and its high level and speed allows players to breeze through once catching it. Groudon can learn the deadly Sunny Day and Solarbeam combo as well as fire and ground attacks, making it a formidable Pokémon with a wide variety of moves. Kyogre is less overwhelming, but can learn powerful water and ice moves such as Blizzard, Ice Beam, and Hydro Pump. On top of all this, both Kyogre and Groudon can learn one-hit KO moves in Sheer Cold and Fissure.

The three lesser legendaries of the game are the legendary titans, Regice, Registeel, and Regirock. Players have to go through several braille puzzles to unlock the caverns where the Regis reside. For the most part, these legendaries aren’t as strong as the other ones available in the game, but are a good addition to any collection.

The final legendary Pokémon in the game are Latios and Latias. One of the duo will be roaming in Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald while the other Pokémon will be on Southern Island. They are both Psychic and Water types, making them relatively strong.

Although Pokémon was originally made for Gameboys, many Pokémon games have sprung up for the PC. Be sure to check out some of these games on our Luxe 100 PCs.

1 thought on “Blast to the Past: Pokémon Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald”

Leave a Reply